Skip to main content

ASTE Graduate Advising

For initial advising and questions about the graduate program admissions, please contact:

Dr. Debra Spielmaker
e-mail: debra.spielmaker@usu.edu
P: 435-213-5562
Office: IS 108

Graduate Faculty Specializations

Students are accepted into the graduate programs with a temporary advisor, Dr. Debra Spielmaker. By the end of the second semester, students must establish a Supervisory Committee that will approve a Program of Study and, if enrolled in an MS program, approve your research proposal for your thesis.

Students may choose their major professor (chair) and other committee members (minimum of two) from the graduate faculty. To begin, students should contact the professor they would like to serve as the chair of their committee. If she/he is willing to serve, then together the chair and the student should select other Supervisory Committee members. It is the student's responsibility to contact the proposed committee members to make certain they are willing to serve prior to completing the Supervisory Committee Approval Form. The form will require each members signature (collected by the School of Graduate Studies electronically).  The department head must approve the committee and may add members. The Supervisory Committee Approval Form is then forwarded to the dean of the School of Graduate Studies for final approval.

For specific questions about research specialization:

Dr. Richard Beard

Agricultural Extension and Education
e-mail: richard.beard@usu.edu
Phone: 435-797-0573
Office: ASTE 101-D

Dr. Kelsey Hall

Agricultural Communications, Agricultural Extension and Education
e-mail: kelsey.hall@usu.edu
Office: ASTE 107

Dr. Becki Lawver

Agricultural Extension and Education
e-mail: rebecca.lawver@usu.edu
Phone: 435-797-1254
Office: ASTE 111

Dr. Rhonda Miller

Agricultural Extension and Education
e-mail: rhonda.miller@usu.edu
P: 435-797-3772
Office: ASTE 109

Dr. Ed Reeve

Technology and Engineering Education
e-mail: edward.reeve@usu.edu
Phone: 435-898-3642
Office: IS 112-E

Dr. Debra Spielmaker

Career and Technical Education & Agricultural Extension and Education
e-mail: debra.spielmaker@usu.edu
P: 435-213-5562
Office: IS 108

Dr. Gary Stewardson

Technology and Engineering Education
e-mail: gary.stewardson@usu.edu
Phone: 435-797-1802
Office: IS 112-D

Dr. Tyson Sorensen

Agricultural Extension and Education
email: tyson.sorensen@usu.edu
P: 435-797-5741
Office: ASTE 111

Dr. Windi Turner

Family and Consumer Sciences Education and Extension
e-mail: windi.turner@usu.edu
P: 435-797-4476
Office: FL 303B

Dr. Brian Warnick

Agricultural Extension and Education
email: brian.warnick@usu.edu
P: 435-797-0378
Office: ASTE 103